A Day in the Life of Miss Dillard University – Part I

Johne'tra Trotter is Miss Dillard University 2012-2013 and a senior physics major.

Johne’tra Trotter is Miss Dillard University 2012-2013 and a senior physics major.

By Johne’tra Trotter

Hello, beautiful people! I am Johne’tra Trotter, senior physics major from the jazzy city of New Orleans, LA, and I proudly serve my institution as Miss Dillard University 2012-2013.

I would like to thank Queen to Queen, Inc. for having me as their first Historically Black College or University Queen to guest blog. What an honor!

If you follow me on Twitter @_hotterTHANjuly, you will see that I am always very busy! A typical day for me starts at about 7:30am and ends around 1am… On a good day. I wake up, do my hair and makeup, get dressed, and rush to back-to-back classes. Then, head to countless meetings. And, then, to more back-to-back classes.

Sometimes I will forget to eat and if I do eat, I only have about 15 minutes.

I manage community service projects or events, with an impromptu appearance or speech here and there. When I return to my apartment, I tend to my family, and catch up on schoolwork and graduate school preparation. (I have hopes of obtaining my PhD in Medical Physics.) Then, I wake back up to do it all again!

There’s more to come from Miss Dillard University.  Read about how Johne’tra deals with challenges, what lessons she’s learned, and tips for succeeding with a busy schedule in coming posts.

6 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of Miss Dillard University – Part I

  1. Pingback: A Day in the Life of Miss Dillard University – Part II: Challenges | Queen to Queen, Inc.

  2. Pingback: A Day in the Life of Miss Dillard University – Part III: Lessons Learned | Queen to Queen, Inc.

  3. Pingback: How to Succeed with a Busy Schedule: Tips from Miss Dillard University | Queen to Queen, Inc.

  4. Pingback: A Day in the Life of Miss Virginia Union University | Queen to Queen, Inc.

  5. Pingback: A Day in the Life of Miss Virginia Union University: Part II | Queen to Queen, Inc.

  6. Pingback: Missed us lately? | Queen to Queen, Inc.

Leave a Reply

